Allies Directory

A Safe Zone Ally at UNC Charlotte is an informed campus partner who has committed time and energy through organized training to learn more about individuals that may identify as Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Questioning or may be unsure of their sexual orientation or gender identity. The Safe Zone Symbol (above) is a visible symbol of support and an affirmation of commitment by that individual to fight homophobia and heterosexism at UNC Charlotte.

The Safe Zone Ally Motto:

I am committed to respecting, accepting, supporting, and listening. I am here.


Name Position & Department Contact Information
Sullivan, Shannon
Chair, Philosophy Department; Professor of Philosophy and Health Psychology
Philosophy
Cedar Hall 23A
704-687-5418
SSullivan@uncc.edu
Swayne, Linda
Professor, Department of Marketing
Belk College of Business
Friday 240B
704-687-7602
leswayne@uncc.edu
Swintal, Andrea
Academic Advisor/Advising Systems Specialist
College of Health & Human Services
College of Health & Human Services 103
704-687-7921
aswintal@uncc.edu
Talluri, Carolyn
Physician's Assistant
Student Health
Student Health Center
704-687-7400
cmahony@uncc.edu
Tankersley, Richard
Associate Dean
College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
Fretwell 430
rtankers@uncc.edu
Taylor, Jess
Education Abroad Advisor
Office of Education Abroad
College of Health & Human Services 256
704-687-7747
jessica.taylor@uncc.edu
Taylor, Melissa
Administrative Support Assistant
Controller's Office
Reese 401C5
704-687-5759
mmfurr@uncc.edu
Thachik, Stefani
Assistant Director, Student Center for Professional Development
Belk College of Business
Friday 147
687-6068
Sthachik@uncc.edu
Thiede, Ralf
Associate Professor of Linguistics
Department of English
Fretwell 265-B
704-687-0611
rthiede@uncc.edu
Thiede, Barbara
Teaching Professor
Religious Studies
Macy 208B
704-687-5188
bthiede@uncc.edu
Thomas, Marie H.
NP Program Coordinator
School of Nursing
College of Health & Human Services 444D
704-687-7972
MarieHThomas@uncc.edu
Thomas, Kristi
Foundation Building
kwestph2@uncc.edu
Thomas, Lori
Associate Professor, School of Social Work
College of Health & Human Services
College of Health & Human Services 481D
704-687-7037
lorithomas@uncc.edu
Thomas, Brian
Lieutenant
Police & Public Safety
Police & Public Safety
704-687-8455
bsthomas@uncc.edu
Thomas, Nikki
Archivist (Assoc Prof)
Atkins Library
Atkins 902
704-687-0339
nthoma33@uncc.edu
Thorsheim, Peter
Professor of History
History Department
Garinger 122
704-687-5159
peter.thorsheim@uncc.edu
Turner, Kimberly
Director
Identity, Equity and Engagement
Popp Martin Student Union 210
704-687-7119
KimberlyTurner@uncc.edu
Viana, Henrique
Lecturer
Communication Studies
Colvard 5031
hviana@uncc.edu
Vintinner, Jean
Clinical Assistant Professor
College of Education
College of Education 385
jpvintin@uncc.edu
Volstad, Gabrielle
Adjunct Lecturer
University Writing Program
Cameron Hall 113
gturgeon@uncc.edu
Voltz, Fran
Adjunct Faculty, First-Year Writing Program
College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
Cameron Hall 113
efvoltz@uncc.edu
Wages, Rachel
Assistant Director for Career Education
Career Center
Atkins 150
704-687-8123
rmwages@uncc.edu
Walczyk, Jim
Director
University Recreation
Belk Gym 121
7046870432
jwalczyk@uncc.edu
Walker, Lisa
Professor, Department of Sociology
College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
Colvard 2330
704-687-7825
lisa.walker@uncc.edu
Wallace, Teresa
University Program Associate
Levine Scholars Program
Levine Hall 282
704-687-5880
ttwallac@uncc.edu