Allies Directory

A Safe Zone Ally at UNC Charlotte is an informed campus partner who has committed time and energy through organized training to learn more about individuals that may identify as Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Questioning or may be unsure of their sexual orientation or gender identity. The Safe Zone Symbol (above) is a visible symbol of support and an affirmation of commitment by that individual to fight homophobia and heterosexism at UNC Charlotte.

The Safe Zone Ally Motto:

I am committed to respecting, accepting, supporting, and listening. I am here.


Name Position & Department Contact Information
Sawyer, Brenda
Director
Residency Determination Office
Denny 114
704-687-5123
brenda.sawyer@uncc.edu
Schmitz, Dawn
Associate Dean for Special Collections and University Archives
Atkins Library
Atkins 1002
704-687-1674
dawn.schmitz@uncc.edu
Schneider, Stan
Professor and Vice Chair
Biological Sciences
Woodward 288A
704-687-8527
sschnedr@uncc.edu
Schob, Elizabeth
BASICS Program Graduate Assistant, Wellness Promotion
Student Health
Student Health Center
eschob@uncc.edu
Sengupta , Renita
Psychologist
Counseling and Psychological Services
Christine F. Price Center for Counseling and Psychological Services
Rsengup1@uncc.edu
Seyter, Barbara
Senior Associate Director of Admissions Cato Hall 137
704-687-7281
bseyter@uncc.edu
Shade, Bonny
Associate Director for Fraternity and Sorority Life
Student Venues and Engagement
Cone Center 382
704-687-0362
bboutet@uncc.edu
Shaffer, Karen
Assistant Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs
Student Venues and Engagement
Popp Martin Student Union 251H
704-687-7128
KarenShaffer@uncc.edu
Shedd, Janna
Lecturer
Office of Academic Affairs
Macy 213
704-687-5187
jkshedd@uncc.edu
Shilling, Matt
Assistant Director of Open Recreation and Aquatics
University Recreation
Belk Gym 117
704-687-1854
Mshilling@uncc.edu
Shore, Rebecca
Associate Professor
College of Education
College of Education 269
704-687-8976
rshore6@uncc.edu
Siarzynski, Kristen
Associate Director of Freshman Advising
University Advising Center
Colvard 2200
704-687-0295
kgallow9@uncc.edu
Sigmon, Allison
Associate Director, Academic and Career Coaching
Belk College of Business
Friday 305
704-687-7714
allisonmsigmon@uncc.edu
Simard, Sarah
Business Services Coordinator
Dean of Students Office
King 217
704-687-0341
sjsimard@uncc.edu
Simmons, Shawn
Assistant Director Colvard North Suite 2407
704-687-0033
S.Simmons@uncc.edu
Simmons, Caitlin
Graduate Student
Clinical Health Psychology Ph.D. Program
Colvard 3060
csimmo54@uncc.edu
Simmons, Nikki
Sr. Contracting Manager
Research & Economic Development
Cameron Hall 311
704-687-1885
nsimmo17@uncc.edu
Skinner, Jeannine
Assistant Professor
College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
Colvard 7046871425
Jskinn11@uncc.edu
Slane, Lauren
Graduate Program Coordinator
College of Computing and Informatics
Bioinformatics Building 319
704-687-7481
lslane@uncc.edu
Smith, Brad
Director of Teacher Education Advising and Licensure
College of Education
Cato Hall 119
704-687-8815
bradleysmith@uncc.edu
Smith, Kenesha
Graduate Assistant
Office of Disability Services
Fretwell
ksmit392@uncc.edu
Smith, Melissa
MHA Program Administrator, Department of Public Health Sciences
College of Health & Human Services
College of Health & Human Services 427E
704-687-8926
M.A.Smith@uncc.edu
Smith, Kara
Electrical and Computer Engineering Department ksmit444@uncc.edu
Smith, Dale
Professor
Department of Global Studies
Macy 103
704-687-5181
dsmit367@uncc.edu
Smith, Nancy
Assistant Director of Parking and Transportation Services
Parking and Transportation Services
Parking and Transportation Services
704-687-0276
nmsmith@uncc.edu