Allies Directory

A Safe Zone Ally at UNC Charlotte is an informed campus partner who has committed time and energy through organized training to learn more about individuals that may identify as Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Questioning or may be unsure of their sexual orientation or gender identity. The Safe Zone Symbol (above) is a visible symbol of support and an affirmation of commitment by that individual to fight homophobia and heterosexism at UNC Charlotte.

The Safe Zone Ally Motto:

I am committed to respecting, accepting, supporting, and listening. I am here.


Name Position & Department Contact Information
Hurst, Casey
SAFC Business manager
Student Venues and Engagement
Popp Martin Student Union SGOC Room 212V
704-687-7255
cphurst@uncc.edu
Hutchcraft, Allison
Department of English
College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
Fretwell 260A
ahutchcraft@uncc.edu
Issel, Michele
Professor, Department of Public Health Services
College of Health & Human Services
College of Health & Human Services 335C
Michele.Issel@uncc.edu
J. Haag, Michael
Lab Tech mjhaag@uncc.edu
Jackson, Aeryn
they / them
Assistant Director for Web Infrastructure
Student Affairs
Housing & Residence Life 003J
704-687-7871
aarjacks@uncc.edu
Jacobs, John
Facility Security Office/Export Control Officer
Research & Economic Development
Grigg Hall 143
704-687-1877
jljacob2@uncc.edu
Jafari, Nadia
Doctoral Student in Health Psychology Program
Psychological Science
Colvard 3027D
njafari@uncc.edu
Jakeway, Angela
Senior Lecturer
Languages & Culture Studies
College of Education 412
704-687-8762
ajakeway@uncc.edu
James, Karen
Associate Director for Scholars Advising
Honors College
Levine Hall 292
704-687-7200
karenjames@uncc.edu
Jasmine, Suzanne
Academic and Career Coach
Belk College of Business
Friday 310A
704-687-7632
sjasmine@uncc.edu
Jenkins, Leslie
Contracts Administrator
Research & Economic Development
Cameron Hall 305A
704-687-1868
lajenki1@uncc.edu
Johnson, Darrin
Project Director, School of Social Work
College of Health & Human Services
College of Health & Human Services 468A
704-687-5221
djohn210@uncc.edu
Johnson, Sarah
Office Manager Teacher Education Advising and Licensure
College of Education
College of Education 126
704-687-8813
sjohn305@uncc.edu
Johnson, Santerrio
Police Officer
Police & Public Safety
Police & Public Safety
704-687-2200
sjohn311@uncc.edu
Jordan-Marshall, Sophia
Associate Director of Programs
University Recreation
Belk Gym 110
704-687-0433
sophia.marshall@uncc.edu
Katsanos, Tina
Lecturer
Religious Studies
Macy 221
704-687-5191
fgkatsan@uncc.edu
Kaufman, Nicole
Writing Resources Center Tutor
Department of English
Cameron Hall
704-975-4384
nkaufman@uncc.edu
Keene, P. Gail
Business Officer
Research & Economic Development
Cameron Hall
704-687-8286
pgkeene@uncc.edu
Kelley, Gina
Academic Advisor
College of Computing and Informatics
Woodward 230B
704-687-8768
gkelley1@uncc.edu
Kennedy, Caroline
Senior Post Award Specialist
College of Computing and Informatics
Woodward 341B
704-687-0498
cekenned@uncc.edu
Kerr, Andrew
PhD Student
Information Technology Services (ITS)
Kennedy 330
704-701-5479
apkerr@uncc.edu
King, Janasha
Business Services Specialist
Research & Economic Development
Cameron Hall 320B
704-687-8046
Jking122@uncc.edu
Kissel, Brian
Associate Professor
College of Education
College of Education 394
704-687-8899
btkissel@uncc.edu
Klee, Eric
University Catalog Editor/Web Content Manager
Office of Academic Affairs
Reese 533
704-687-5718
eklee@uncc.edu
Klein, Stephanie
Sergeant
Police & Public Safety
Police & Public Safety
704-687-8300
sklein5@uncc.edu