Allies Directory

A Safe Zone Ally at UNC Charlotte is an informed campus partner who has committed time and energy through organized training to learn more about individuals that may identify as Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Questioning or may be unsure of their sexual orientation or gender identity. The Safe Zone Symbol (above) is a visible symbol of support and an affirmation of commitment by that individual to fight homophobia and heterosexism at UNC Charlotte.

The Safe Zone Ally Motto:

I am committed to respecting, accepting, supporting, and listening. I am here.


Name Position & Department Contact Information
Uzoma, Azubeze
He/Him/His
Residential Graduate Assistant
Housing & Residence Life
Lynch Hall 704-687-8039
hrlgalynch@uncc.edu
Vang, Der
Director of Mentoring
College of Computing and Informatics
Woodward 207
der.vang@uncc.edu
Viana, Henrique
Lecturer
Communication Studies
Colvard 5031
hviana@uncc.edu
Vintinner, Jean
Clinical Assistant Professor
College of Education
College of Education 385
jpvintin@uncc.edu
Volstad, Gabrielle
Adjunct Lecturer
University Writing Program
Cameron Hall 113
gturgeon@uncc.edu
Voltz, Fran
Adjunct Faculty, First-Year Writing Program
College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
Cameron Hall 113
efvoltz@uncc.edu
Wages, Rachel
Assistant Director for Career Education
Career Center
Atkins 150
704-687-8123
rmwages@uncc.edu
Walczyk, Jim
Director
University Recreation
Belk Gym 121
7046870432
jwalczyk@uncc.edu
Walker, Lisa
Professor, Department of Sociology
College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
Colvard 2330
704-687-7825
lisa.walker@uncc.edu
Wallace, Teresa
University Program Associate
Levine Scholars Program
Levine Hall 282
704-687-5880
ttwallac@uncc.edu
Walsh, Alison
Assistant Dean for Student Services
College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
Fretwell 235J
704-687-0077
amwalsh1@uncc.edu
Ward, Brenda
Senior Lecturer
Kinesiology
Belk Gym #216
704-687-0870
bjward@uncc.edu
Warren-Findlow, Jan
Associate Professor, Department of Public Health Services
College of Health & Human Services
College of Health & Human Services 427B
704-687-7908
jwarren1@uncc.edu
Wayland, Coral
Associate Dean of Curriculum
Office of Undergraduate Education
Colvard 2103
704-687-5093
cwayland@uncc.edu
Weeks, Greg
Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
Fretwell 430H
704-687-0060
gbweeks@uncc.edu
Weigel, Christine
Title IX Investigator
Division of Institutional Integrity
Cone Center 349
704-687-6129
Christine.Weigel@uncc.edu
Wells, Carrie
Lecturer
Biological Sciences
Woodward 235E
carrie.wells@uncc.edu
Wertz-Orbaugh, Tonya
Lecturer
College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
Cameron Hall 132
704-687-1921
torbaugh@uncc.edu
West, Mark
Chair of English Department
English
Fretwell 276F
704-687-0618
miwest@uncc.edu
West, Kathleen
Undergraduate Coordinator
Psychological Science
Colvard 4026
704-687-1350
kpotte10@uncc.edu
White, Dominick
Assistant Director of Admissions
Undergraduate Admissions
Cato Hall 140
704-687-7277
dominick.white@uncc.edu
Whittingham, Collen
Assistant Professor of Reading & Elementary Education
College of Education
College of Education 393
cwhitti8@uncc.edu
Wilhelm, Lucian
Associate Director for Conference, Reservations & Event Services
Conferences, Reservations & Event Services
Popp Martin Student Union 251Y
704-687-7105
Lucian.Wilhelm@uncc.edu
Wilkins, Patti
Clinical Associate Professor
College of Education
College of Education 263
704-687-8734
P.Wilkins@uncc.edu
Willetts, Victoria
Graduate Student
Clinical Health Psychology Ph.D. Program
Colvard 3065B
vwillet1@uncc.edu