Allies Directory

A Safe Zone Ally at UNC Charlotte is an informed campus partner who has committed time and energy through organized training to learn more about individuals that may identify as Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Questioning or may be unsure of their sexual orientation or gender identity. The Safe Zone Symbol (above) is a visible symbol of support and an affirmation of commitment by that individual to fight homophobia and heterosexism at UNC Charlotte.

The Safe Zone Ally Motto:

I am committed to respecting, accepting, supporting, and listening. I am here.


Name Position & Department Contact Information
Sagui-Henson, Sara
Doctoral Student
The Graduate School
Colvard 3061
ssagui@uncc.edu
Galloway, Kristen
Associate Director of Freshman Advising
University Advising Center
Colvard 2022
704-687-0295
kgallow9@uncc.edu
Hayes, Marie
Health Psychology Doctoral Student
Not Available
Colvard 3057A
mhayes50@uncc.edu
Smith, Dale
Professor
Department of Global Studies
Colvard 103
704-687-5181
dsmit367@uncc.edu
Doran, Maureen
Academic Advisor/Assistant Director of Service Learning
University Advising Center
Colvard 2200
704-687-5440
mdoran3@uncc.edu
West, Kathleen
Lecturer & Academic Advisor, Department of Psychology
College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
Colvard 4048
704-687-1350
kpotte10@uncc.edu
Park, Sydney
Graduate Student
Not Available
Colvard 3060
spark68@uncc.edu
Black, Jason
Professor and Chair
Communication Studies
Colvard 5058
205-657-6755
jblac143@uncc.edu
Rodgers, Kimberly
Associate Director for Student Success Colvard 2323
704-687-7679
Kimberly.Rodgers@uncc.edu
Norander, Stephanie
Associate Professor
Communication Studies
Colvard 2102
704-687-5631
snorande@uncc.edu
Basinger, Erin
Assistant Professor
Communication Studies
Colvard 5021
ebasinge@uncc.edu
Pereira, Malin
Executive Director
Honors College
Cone Center 369B
704-687-7198
mpereira@uncc.edu
Avery, Michael
Assistant Director for Operations, Cone Center
Student Union, Activities & Recreation
Cone Center 369
704-687-0712
Mlavery@uncc.edu
O'Hara, Coren
Associate Director, Center for Graduate Life Cone Center 268
687-7242
ceohara@uncc.edu
Shade, Bonny
Assistant Director
Fraternity & Sorority Life
Cone Center 382
704-687-0362
bboutet@uncc.edu
Harris, Byron
Student / Intern
Fraternity & Sorority Life
Cone Center
9198106002
Bharr105@uncc.edu
James, Karen
Advisor
Honors College
Cone Center 201C
704-687-7200
karenjames@uncc.edu
Roosenberg, Billy
Coordinator of Scholar Support & Initiatives
Levine Scholars Program
Cone Center 349
704-687-5642
roosenberg@uncc.edu
Young, Aura
Graduate completion specialist
Not Available
Cone Center 268
704-687-1420
ayoun106@uncc.edu
Guobadia, Michelle
Director
Fraternity & Sorority Life
Cone Center 382
704-687-0359
mguobadi@uncc.edu
Langley, Sean
Assistant Director for Off Campus & Volunteer Outreach
Dean of Students Office
Cone Center 382A
704-687-0360
slangley@uncc.edu
Holt, Ann
Director, CRES
Student Union, Activities & Recreation
Cone Center 380
704-687-0718
AEBenson@uncc.edu
Sawyer, Brenda
Director
Residency Determination Office
Denny 114
704-687-5123
brenda.sawyer@uncc.edu
Smith-Orr, Courtney
Undergraduate Director Teaching Assistant Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering Department
EPIC 2356
Csmit530@uncc.edu
Bonnetaud, Cricket
Director of Transition Advising
The William States Lee College of Engineering
EPIC 2330
704-687-7870
cdbonnet@uncc.edu