Allies Directory

A Safe Zone Ally at UNC Charlotte is an informed campus partner who has committed time and energy through organized training to learn more about individuals that may identify as Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Questioning or may be unsure of their sexual orientation or gender identity. The Safe Zone Symbol (above) is a visible symbol of support and an affirmation of commitment by that individual to fight homophobia and heterosexism at UNC Charlotte.

The Safe Zone Ally Motto:

I am committed to respecting, accepting, supporting, and listening. I am here.


Name Position & Department Contact Information
West, Kathleen
Undergraduate Coordinator
Psychological Science
Colvard 4026
704-687-1350
kpotte10@uncc.edu
Abel, Michael
Academic Advisor
University Advising Center
Colvard 2200
704-687-7723
mabel3@uncc.edu
Gil-Rivas, Virginia
Associate Professor, Director
Department of Psychology
Colvard 4006
704-687-1330
vgilriva@uncc.edu
Walker, Lisa
Professor, Department of Sociology
College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
Colvard 2330
704-687-7825
lisa.walker@uncc.edu
Viana, Henrique
Lecturer
Communication Studies
Colvard 5031
hviana@uncc.edu
Pauling, Ashley
Academic Advisor
University Advising Center
Colvard 2200
704-687-5449
Apaulin1@uncc.edu
Bowen, LeeFredrick
Director for Academic Advising Systems
University Advising Center
Colvard 2200
704-687-7717
lbowen11@uncc.edu
Hartman, Jen
Associate Professor, Department of Criminal Justice & Criminology
College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
Colvard 5073
704-687-0748
jhartman@uncc.edu
Lee, Danelle
Executive Assistant to the Associate Provost of Metropolitan Studies
Metropolitan Studies
Colvard 3042
704-687-1304
DanelleLee@uncc.edu
Basinger, Erin
Assistant Professor
Communication Studies
Colvard 5021
ebasinge@uncc.edu
Basquin, Cecily
Graduate Assistant
Not Available
Colvard 3065A
cbasquin@uncc.edu
Bastian, Heather
Associate Director
Office of Undergraduate Education
Colvard 2111
704-687-7174
hbastian@uncc.edu
Gigler, Maggie
Graduate Student
Clinical Health Psychology Ph.D. Program
Colvard 3060
mgigler@uncc.edu
Smith, SaDonna
Academic Advisor
University Advising Center
Colvard 2200
704-687-8504
ssmit363@uncc.edu
Rogers, Courtney
Graduate Student
Not Available
Colvard 3123
croger71@uncc.edu
Grano, Daniel
Associate Professor
Communication Studies
Colvard 5006
704-687-0764
dgrano@uncc.edu
Rodgers, Kimberly
Associate Director for Student Success
University Center for Academic Excellence
Colvard 2306
704-687-7679
Kimberly.Rodgers@uncc.edu
Norander, Stephanie
Associate Professor
Communication Studies
Colvard 2102
704-687-5631
snorande@uncc.edu
Doran, Maureen
Academic Advisor/Assistant Director of Service Learning
University Advising Center
Colvard 2200
704-687-5440
mdoran3@uncc.edu
Lopez, Dr. Samuel T.
Director, Multicultural Academic Services
Office of Academic Affairs
Colvard 2405
704-687-0031
slopez7@uncc.edu
Orejuela, Ana
Graduate Student
Not Available
Colvard 3058
aorejuel@uncc.edu
Skinner, Jeannine
Assistant Professor
College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
Colvard 7046871425
Jskinn11@uncc.edu
Brown, Regena
Director
Office of Academic Diversity and Inclusion
Colvard 2405
704-687-7123
rybrown1@uncc.edu
Jafari, Nadia
Doctoral Student in Health Psychology Program
Psychological Science
Colvard 3027D
njafari@uncc.edu
Black, Jason
Professor and Chair
Communication Studies
Colvard 5058
205-657-6755
jblac143@uncc.edu