Allies Directory

A Safe Zone Ally at UNC Charlotte is an informed campus partner who has committed time and energy through organized training to learn more about individuals that may identify as Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Questioning or may be unsure of their sexual orientation or gender identity. The Safe Zone Symbol (above) is a visible symbol of support and an affirmation of commitment by that individual to fight homophobia and heterosexism at UNC Charlotte.

The Safe Zone Ally Motto:

I am committed to respecting, accepting, supporting, and listening. I am here.


Name Position & Department Contact Information
Bastian, Heather
Associate Director
Office of Undergraduate Education
Colvard 2111
704-687-7174
hbastian@uncc.edu
Basinger, Erin
Assistant Professor
Communication Studies
Colvard 5021
ebasinge@uncc.edu
Everage, Nicholas
Colvard
neverage@uncc.edu
Rogers, Courtney
Graduate Student
Not Available
Colvard 3123
croger71@uncc.edu
Grano, Daniel
Associate Professor
Communication Studies
Colvard 5006
704-687-0764
dgrano@uncc.edu
Gigler, Maggie
Graduate Student
Clinical Health Psychology Ph.D. Program
Colvard 3060
mgigler@uncc.edu
Smith, SaDonna
Academic Advisor
University Advising Center
Colvard 2200
704-687-8504
ssmit363@uncc.edu
Doran, Maureen
Academic Advisor/Assistant Director of Service Learning
University Advising Center
Colvard 2200
704-687-5440
mdoran3@uncc.edu
Lopez, Dr. Samuel T.
Director, Multicultural Academic Services
Office of Academic Affairs
Colvard 2405
704-687-0031
slopez7@uncc.edu
Orejuela, Ana
Graduate Student
Not Available
Colvard 3058
aorejuel@uncc.edu
Rodgers, Kimberly
Associate Director for Student Success
University Center for Academic Excellence
Colvard 2306
704-687-7679
Kimberly.Rodgers@uncc.edu
Norander, Stephanie
Associate Professor
Communication Studies
Colvard 2102
704-687-5631
snorande@uncc.edu
Brown, Regena
Director
Office of Academic Diversity and Inclusion
Colvard 2405
704-687-7123
rybrown1@uncc.edu
Jafari, Nadia
Doctoral Student in Health Psychology Program
Psychological Science
Colvard 3027D
njafari@uncc.edu
Black, Jason
Professor and Chair
Communication Studies
Colvard 5058
205-657-6755
jblac143@uncc.edu
Skinner, Jeannine
Assistant Professor
College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
Colvard 7046871425
Jskinn11@uncc.edu
Hayes, Marie
Health Psychology Doctoral Student
Not Available
Colvard 3057A
mhayes50@uncc.edu
Avery, Michael
Assistant Director for Operations, Cone Center
Student Union, Activities & Recreation
Cone Center 369
704-687-0712
Mlavery@uncc.edu
Guobadia, Michelle
Director
Fraternity & Sorority Life
Cone Center 382
704-687-0359
mguobadi@uncc.edu
Weigel, Christine
Title IX Investigator
Division of Institutional Integrity
Cone Center 349
704-687-6129
Christine.Weigel@uncc.edu
DeSario, Julie
Student Service Specialist Cone Center 380
jdesario@uncc.edu
O'Hara, Coren
Associate Director, Center for Graduate Life Cone Center 268
687-7242
ceohara@uncc.edu
Harris, Byron
Student / Intern
Fraternity & Sorority Life
Cone Center
9198106002
Bharr105@uncc.edu
Holt, Ann
Director, CRES
Student Union, Activities & Recreation
Cone Center 369
704-687-0718
AEBenson@uncc.edu
Pereira, Malin
Executive Director
Honors College
Cone Center 369B
704-687-7198
mpereira@uncc.edu