Allies Directory

A Safe Zone Ally at UNC Charlotte is an informed campus partner who has committed time and energy through organized training to learn more about individuals that may identify as Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Questioning or may be unsure of their sexual orientation or gender identity. The Safe Zone Symbol (above) is a visible symbol of support and an affirmation of commitment by that individual to fight homophobia and heterosexism at UNC Charlotte.

The Safe Zone Ally Motto:

I am committed to respecting, accepting, supporting, and listening. I am here.


Name Position & Department Contact Information
Reeves, Chassity
Receptionist
College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
Colvard 430
704-687-0088
creeve14@uncc.edu
Gray, Cynthia
Administrative Specialist/Office Manage
Office of Academic Diversity and Inclusion
Colvard 2400
704-687-0034
cgray42@uncc.edu
Peterman, Amy
Associate Professor and Director of Clinical Training
Clinical Health Psychology Ph.D. Program
Colvard 4013
amy.peterman@uncc.edu
Strahm, Brett
Assistant Director
University Center for Academic Excellence
Colvard 2305
704-687-7844
brstrahm@uncc.edu
Simmons, Caitlin
Graduate Student
Clinical Health Psychology Ph.D. Program
Colvard 3060
csimmo54@uncc.edu
Stokes, Ashli
Associate Professor, Director Center for the Study of the New South
Communication Studies
Colvard 5004
7046870780
Aqstokes@uncc.edu
Griffin, Meredith
Graduate Student
College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
Colvard 3027F
mgriff86@uncc.edu
Wayland, Coral
Associate Dean of Curriculum
Office of Undergraduate Education
Colvard 2103
704-687-5093
cwayland@uncc.edu
Canevello, Amy
Assistant Professor
Psychological Science
Colvard 4029
acanevel@uncc.edu
Zona, Leana
Senior Program Manager
Distance Education
Colvard 1017D
704-687-1281
lzona@uncc.edu
Roos, Lydia
Ph.D. Student
Clinical Health Psychology Ph.D. Program
Colvard 3027D
ljames38@uncc.edu
Davis, Christine S.
Professor
Communication Studies
Colvard 5001
704-687-0760
csdavis2@uncc.edu
Bennett, Jeanette
Associate Professor
Department of Psychology
Colvard 4049
jbenne70@uncc.edu
Light, Lydia
Lecturer
Anthropology
Colvard 215
7046877693
Llight@uncc.edu
Dixon-Brown, Melody
Senior Lecturer, Department of Communication studies
College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
Colvard 5014
704-687-0761
melodyDB@uncc.edu
West, Kathleen
Undergraduate Coordinator
Psychological Science
Colvard 4026
704-687-1350
kpotte10@uncc.edu
Abel, Michael
Academic Advisor
University Advising Center
Colvard 2200
704-687-7723
mabel3@uncc.edu
Gil-Rivas, Virginia
Associate Professor, Director
Department of Psychology
Colvard 4006
704-687-1330
vgilriva@uncc.edu
Walker, Lisa
Professor, Department of Sociology
College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
Colvard 2330
704-687-7825
lisa.walker@uncc.edu
Pauling, Ashley
Academic Advisor
University Advising Center
Colvard 2200
7046875449
Apaulin1@uncc.edu
Bowen, LeeFredrick
Director for Academic Advising Systems
University Advising Center
Colvard 2200
704-687-7717
lbowen11@uncc.edu
Hartman, Jen
Associate Professor, Department of Criminal Justice & Criminology
College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
Colvard 5073
704-687-0748
jhartman@uncc.edu
Lee, Danelle
Executive Assistant to the Associate Provost of Metropolitan Studies
Metropolitan Studies
Colvard 3042
704-687-1304
DanelleLee@uncc.edu
Viana, Henrique
Lecturer
Communication Studies
Colvard 5031
hviana@uncc.edu
Basinger, Erin
Assistant Professor
Communication Studies
Colvard 5021
ebasinge@uncc.edu