Allies Directory

A Safe Zone Ally at UNC Charlotte is an informed campus partner who has committed time and energy through organized training to learn more about individuals that may identify as Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Questioning or may be unsure of their sexual orientation or gender identity. The Safe Zone Symbol (above) is a visible symbol of support and an affirmation of commitment by that individual to fight homophobia and heterosexism at UNC Charlotte.

The Safe Zone Ally Motto:

I am committed to respecting, accepting, supporting, and listening. I am here.


Name Position & Department Contact Information
Hovis, Cyndi
Business services coordinator
College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
Colvard 3018
704-687-1318
chovis4@uncc.edu
Simmons, Shawn
Assistant Director Colvard North Suite 2407
704-687-0033
S.Simmons@uncc.edu
Stanley, Michelle
University Program Associate
Office of Institutional Research
Colvard 1028
704-687-1294
michellestanley@uncc.edu
Siarzynski, Kristen
Associate Director of Freshman Advising
University Advising Center
Colvard 2200
704-687-0295
kgallow9@uncc.edu
Ruggiero, Aria
Graduate Student
Clinical Health Psychology Ph.D. Program
Colvard 3061
aruggie2@uncc.edu
Coles, Shanna
Senior Program Manager Colvard 1017
704-687-1277
shannacoles@uncc.edu
Rella, Deanna
Associate Director
University Advising Center
Colvard 2200
704-687-8295
drella@uncc.edu
Willetts, Victoria
Graduate Student
Clinical Health Psychology Ph.D. Program
Colvard 3065B
vwillet1@uncc.edu
Reeves, Chassity
Receptionist
College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
Colvard 430
704-687-0088
creeve14@uncc.edu
Reisdorf, Bianca
Assistant Professor Colvard 5010
breisdor@uncc.edu
Gray, Cynthia
Administrative Specialist/Office Manage
Office of Academic Diversity and Inclusion
Colvard 2400
704-687-0034
cgray42@uncc.edu
Peterman, Amy
Associate Professor and Director of Clinical Training
Clinical Health Psychology Ph.D. Program
Colvard 4013
amy.peterman@uncc.edu
Strahm, Brett
Assistant Director
University Center for Academic Excellence
Colvard 2305
704-687-7844
brstrahm@uncc.edu
Simmons, Caitlin
Graduate Student
Clinical Health Psychology Ph.D. Program
Colvard 3060
csimmo54@uncc.edu
Stokes, Ashli
Associate Professor, Director Center for the Study of the New South
Communication Studies
Colvard 5004
704-687-0780
Aqstokes@uncc.edu
Griffin, Meredith
Graduate Student
College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
Colvard 3027F
mgriff86@uncc.edu
Wayland, Coral
Associate Dean of Curriculum
Office of Undergraduate Education
Colvard 2103
704-687-5093
cwayland@uncc.edu
Canevello, Amy
Assistant Professor
Psychological Science
Colvard 4029
acanevel@uncc.edu
Davis, Christine S.
Professor
Communication Studies
Colvard 5001
704-687-0760
csdavis2@uncc.edu
Zona, Leana
Senior Program Manager
Distance Education
Colvard 1017D
704-687-1281
lzona@uncc.edu
Roos, Lydia
Ph.D. Student
Clinical Health Psychology Ph.D. Program
Colvard 3027D
ljames38@uncc.edu
Everage, Nicholas
Colvard
neverage@uncc.edu
Bennett, Jeanette
Associate Professor
Department of Psychology
Colvard 4049
jbenne70@uncc.edu
Light, Lydia
Lecturer
Anthropology
Colvard 215
704-687-7693
Llight@uncc.edu
Dixon-Brown, Melody
Senior Lecturer, Department of Communication studies
College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
Colvard 5014
704-687-0761
melodyDB@uncc.edu