Allies Directory

A Safe Zone Ally at UNC Charlotte is an informed campus partner who has committed time and energy through organized training to learn more about individuals that may identify as Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Questioning or may be unsure of their sexual orientation or gender identity. The Safe Zone Symbol (above) is a visible symbol of support and an affirmation of commitment by that individual to fight homophobia and heterosexism at UNC Charlotte.

The Safe Zone Ally Motto:

I am committed to respecting, accepting, supporting, and listening. I am here.


Name Position & Department Contact Information
Byker, Erik
Assistant Professor
College of Education
College of Education 373
704-687-8898
ebyker@uncc.edu
Vintinner, Jean
Clinical Assistant Professor
College of Education
College of Education 385
jpvintin@uncc.edu
Avery, Joshua
Graduate Advisor
College of Education
College of Education 119
706-687-8727
jdavery@uncc.edu
Thomas, Marie H.
NP Program Coordinator
School of Nursing
College of Health & Human Services 444D
704-687-7972
MarieHThomas@uncc.edu
Mennicke, Annelise
Assistant Professor
School of Social Work
College of Health & Human Services 487B
704-687-7933
amennick@uncc.edu
Burfield, Allison
Associate Professor
College of Health & Human Services
College of Health & Human Services 412C
704-687-7966
aburfiel@uncc.edu
Baker, Janet
Program Associate, School of Social Work
College of Health & Human Services
College of Health & Human Services 495
704-687-7931
jabaker@uncc.edu
Smith, Melissa
MHA Program Administrator, Department of Public Health Sciences
College of Health & Human Services
College of Health & Human Services 427E
704-687-8926
M.A.Smith@uncc.edu
Warren-Findlow, Jan
Associate Professor, Department of Public Health Services
College of Health & Human Services
College of Health & Human Services 427B
704-687-7908
jwarren1@uncc.edu
Peters, Amy
Assistant Coordinator of Field Education, School of Social Work
College of Health & Human Services
College of Health & Human Services 489A
704-687-7930
abarsant@uncc.edu
Boyd, Suzanne
Associate Professor, School of Social Work
College of Health & Human Services
College of Health & Human Services 487E
704-687-7945
sboyd@uncc.edu
Douglas, Heather
Assistant Director of Field Education, School of Social Work
College of Health & Human Services
College of Health & Human Services 498A
704-687-7937
hdougla1@uncc.edu
McCarter, Susan
Associate Professor
School of Social Work
College of Health & Human Services 499
704-687-7926
smccarter@uncc.edu
Epps, Hontah
Clinical Assistant Professor, Director of Field Education, School of Social Work
College of Health & Human Services
College of Health & Human Services 489B
704-687-7932
htepps@uncc.edu
Malles, Anna
MSW Student
School of Social Work
College of Health & Human Services
4076709374
amalles@uncc.edu
Strickler, Whitney
she/her/hers
Assistant Director for Faculty-Led & Short Term Programs
Office of Education Abroad
College of Health & Human Services 259
7046877747
wstric10@uncc.edu
Johnson, Darrin
Project Director, School of Social Work
College of Health & Human Services
College of Health & Human Services 468A
704-687-5221
djohn210@uncc.edu
Lorenz, Elizabeth
Assistant Director
Office of Education Abroad
College of Health & Human Services 256
704-687-7747
e.lorenz@uncc.edu
Kulkarni, Shanti
Associate Professor, School of Social Work
College of Health & Human Services
College of Health & Human Services 481C
704-687-7936
skulkar4@uncc.edu
McCarter, Susan
Associate Professor, School of Social Work
College of Health & Human Services
College of Health & Human Services 499
704-687-7926
SMcCarter@uncc.edu
Harver, Andrew
Professor, Department of Public Health Sciences
College of Health & Human Services
College of Health & Human Services 427
704-687-8680
arharver@uncc.edu
Saunders, William
Assistant Professor, Department of Public Health Sciences
College of Health & Human Services
College of Health & Human Services 428C
704-687-0497
Wsaunde6@uncc.edu
Swintal, Andrea
Academic Advisor/Advising Systems Specialist
College of Health & Human Services
College of Health & Human Services 103
704-687-7921
aswintal@uncc.edu
Rowan, Diana
Associate Professor, School of Social Work
College of Health & Human Services
College of Health & Human Services 481E
704-687-7934
drowan@uncc.edu
Roe, Allison
Graduate Student
The Graduate School
College of Health & Human Services
adomini1@uncc.edu