Allies Directory

A Safe Zone Ally at UNC Charlotte is an informed campus partner who has committed time and energy through organized training to learn more about individuals that may identify as Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Questioning or may be unsure of their sexual orientation or gender identity. The Safe Zone Symbol (above) is a visible symbol of support and an affirmation of commitment by that individual to fight homophobia and heterosexism at UNC Charlotte.

The Safe Zone Ally Motto:

I am committed to respecting, accepting, supporting, and listening. I am here.


Name Position & Department Contact Information
Kolano, Lan
Associate Professor
College of Education
College of Education 325
704-687-8713
Lan.Kolano@uncc.edu
Salas, Spencer
Assistant Professor, Middle Secondary & K-12 Education
College of Education
College of Education
ssalas@uncc.edu
Wilkins, Patti
Clinical Associate Professor
College of Education
College of Education 263
704-687-8734
P.Wilkins@uncc.edu
Aliaga-Buchenau, Anabel
Associate Professor of German, Associate Chair
Languages & Culture Studies
College of Education 439
704-957-8754
aaliagab@umcc.edu
Gomoluch, Susanne
Lecturer
Languages & Culture Studies
College of Education
Sgomoluc@uncc.edu
Wood, Charles
Associate Professor, Special Education
College of Education
College of Education 348
704-687-8395
clwood@uncc.edu
Potrykus, Bianca
Lecturer
Languages & Culture Studies
College of Education 460
704-687-8754
bpotryku@uncc.edu
Dal Pra, Daniela
Lecturer
Languages & Culture Studies
College of Education 409
dcunicod@uncc.edu
Wood, Karen
Professor
College of Education
College of Education 397
704-687-8705
kdwood@uncc.edu
Reinke, Luke
Assistant Professor
College of Education
College of Education 378
704-687-8893
lreinke@uncc.edu
Dávila, Edwin
Lecturer in Spanish
Languages & Culture Studies
College of Education 422
edavila1@uncc.edu
Lawson-Alonso, Aura
Lecturer
Languages & Culture Studies
College of Education 406A
allawson@uncc.edu
Shore, Rebecca
Associate Professor
College of Education
College of Education 269
704-687-8976
rshore6@uncc.edu
Issel, Michele
Professor, Department of Public Health Services
College of Health & Human Services
College of Health & Human Services 335C
Michele.Issel@uncc.edu
Thomas, Marie H.
NP Program Coordinator
School of Nursing
College of Health & Human Services 444D
704-687-7972
MarieHThomas@uncc.edu
Mennicke, Annelise
Assistant Professor
School of Social Work
College of Health & Human Services 487B
704-687-7933
amennick@uncc.edu
Burfield, Allison
Associate Professor
College of Health & Human Services
College of Health & Human Services 412C
704-687-7966
aburfiel@uncc.edu
Baker, Janet
Program Associate, School of Social Work
College of Health & Human Services
College of Health & Human Services 495
704-687-7931
jabaker@uncc.edu
Smith, Melissa
MHA Program Administrator, Department of Public Health Sciences
College of Health & Human Services
College of Health & Human Services 427E
704-687-8926
M.A.Smith@uncc.edu
Warren-Findlow, Jan
Associate Professor, Department of Public Health Services
College of Health & Human Services
College of Health & Human Services 427B
704-687-7908
jwarren1@uncc.edu
Peters, Amy
Assistant Coordinator of Field Education, School of Social Work
College of Health & Human Services
College of Health & Human Services 489A
704-687-7930
abarsant@uncc.edu
Boyd, Suzanne
Associate Professor, School of Social Work
College of Health & Human Services
College of Health & Human Services 487E
704-687-7945
sboyd@uncc.edu
Douglas, Heather
Assistant Director of Field Education, School of Social Work
College of Health & Human Services
College of Health & Human Services 498A
704-687-7937
hdougla1@uncc.edu
Epps, Hontah
Clinical Assistant Professor, Director of Field Education, School of Social Work
College of Health & Human Services
College of Health & Human Services 489B
704-687-7932
htepps@uncc.edu
Johnson, Darrin
Project Director, School of Social Work
College of Health & Human Services
College of Health & Human Services 468A
704-687-5221
djohn210@uncc.edu