Allies Directory

A Safe Zone Ally at UNC Charlotte is an informed campus partner who has committed time and energy through organized training to learn more about individuals that may identify as Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Questioning or may be unsure of their sexual orientation or gender identity. The Safe Zone Symbol (above) is a visible symbol of support and an affirmation of commitment by that individual to fight homophobia and heterosexism at UNC Charlotte.

The Safe Zone Ally Motto:

I am committed to respecting, accepting, supporting, and listening. I am here.


Name Position & Department Contact Information
Frederick, John
Director of Academic Planning & Assessment
Office of the Provost
Atkins 146
704-687-6174
jfrede14@uncc.edu
Corkery, Megan
Assistant Director, Engineering Career Advisor
Career Center
Atkins 150
704-687-0798
megan.corkery@uncc.edu
Wages, Rachel
Assistant Director for Career Education
Career Center
Atkins 150
704-687-8123
rmwages@uncc.edu
Rhodes, Terri
Assistant Director for Training/Staff Psychologist/Lecturer
Dean of Students Office
Atkins 158
704-687-0329
trhodes@uncc.edu
Schmitz, Dawn
Associate Dean for Special Collections and University Archives
Atkins Library
Atkins 1002
704-687-1674
dawn.schmitz@uncc.edu
Ornat, Natalie
humanities librarian Atkins
704-687-1412
nornat@uncc.edu
Spoor, Nicole
Social sciences and ecucation librarian
Atkins Library
Atkins
704-687-63
dspoor1@uncc.edu
Hart, Dodie
Office Manager, Department of Anthropology
College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
Barnard 221
704-687-5090
dahart@uncc.edu
Mosley, Brian
IT Analyst
College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
Barnard 233
704-687-0168
bmosley4@uncc.edu
McCallum, Ryan
IT Support Coordinator
College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
Barnard 236
704-687-1475
Rmccal14@uncc.edu
Walczyk, Jim
Director
University Recreation
Belk Gym 121
7046870432
jwalczyk@uncc.edu
Rosenberger, Liz
Coordinator of Fitness
University Recreation
Belk Gym 125
704-380-7549
Enewcom1@uncc.edu
Lord, Tori
Assistant Director for Fitness
University Recreation
Belk Gym 116
704-687-1077
Vlord1@uncc.edu
Ward, Brenda
Senior Lecturer
Kinesiology
Belk Gym #216
704-687-0870
bjward@uncc.edu
Mata, Tina
Coorindator of Intramural Sports
University Recreation
Belk Gym 126
704-687-0436
Tmata@uncc.edu
Shilling, Matt
Assistant Director of Open Recreation and Aquatics
University Recreation
Belk Gym 117
704-687-1854
Mshilling@uncc.edu
Jordan-Marshall, Sophia
Associate Director of Programs
University Recreation
Belk Gym 110
704-687-0433
sophia.marshall@uncc.edu
Hawes, Rebecca
Admin Support Associate
College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
Burson 200
704-687-5244
rhawes@uncc.edu
Donovan-Merkert, Bernadette
Department Chair, Department of Chemistry
Department of Chemistry
Burson 200
704-687-1464
bdonovan@uncc.edu
Cooper, Brian
Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry
College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
Burson 142
704-687-8050
btcooper@uncc.edu
Jenkins, Leslie
Contracts Administrator
Research & Economic Development
Cameron Hall 305A
704-687-1868
lajenki1@uncc.edu
Williams-Looper, Bernadette
IT Manager
Research & Economic Development
Cameron Hall 307
704-687-1865
bwill184@uncc.edu
Wertz-Orbaugh, Tonya
Lecturer
College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
Cameron Hall 132
704-687-1921
torbaugh@uncc.edu
Rowan, Barry
COI Manager
Research & Economic Development
Cameron Hall 320
7046878270
browan1@uncc.edu
Blandford, Cassandra
Visiting Lecturer
College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
Cameron Hall 128
704-687-1927
cblandford@uncc.edu