Allies Directory

A Safe Zone Ally at UNC Charlotte is an informed campus partner who has committed time and energy through organized training to learn more about individuals that may identify as Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Questioning or may be unsure of their sexual orientation or gender identity. The Safe Zone Symbol (above) is a visible symbol of support and an affirmation of commitment by that individual to fight homophobia and heterosexism at UNC Charlotte.

The Safe Zone Ally Motto:

I am committed to respecting, accepting, supporting, and listening. I am here.


Name Position & Department Contact Information
Markstein, Laura
Popp Martin Student Union
lmarkste@uncc.edu
Miller, Heather
Associate Director of Student Involvement
Student Venues and Engagement
Popp Martin Student Union 212M
704-687-7130
hmille40@uncc.edu
Forester, Rachael
Assistant Director
Identity, Equity and Engagement
Popp Martin Student Union 210
704-687-1611
rforest3@uncc.edu
Cristina, Madi
Graduate Assistant for Student Organizations
Student Venues and Engagement
Popp Martin Student Union
studentorgs-ga@uncc.edu
Langley, Sean
Assistant Director
Leadership and Community Engagement
Popp Martin Student Union 382A
704-687-0361
slangley@uncc.edu
Wilhelm, Lucian
Associate Director for Conference, Reservations & Event Services
Conferences, Reservations & Event Services
Popp Martin Student Union 251Y
704-687-7105
Lucian.Wilhelm@uncc.edu
Campbell, Nadia
Assistant Director
Leadership and Community Engagement
Popp Martin Student Union 280
704-687-7159
ncampbell@uncc.edu
Martin, Karen
Business Services Coordinator
Student Venues and Engagement
Popp Martin Student Union 251B
704-687-7116
karen.martin@uncc.edu
Shaffer, Karen
Assistant Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs
Student Venues and Engagement
Popp Martin Student Union 251H
704-687-7128
KarenShaffer@uncc.edu
Hurst, Casey
SAFC Business manager
Student Venues and Engagement
Popp Martin Student Union SGOC Room 212V
704-687-7255
cphurst@uncc.edu
Turner, Kimberly
Director
Identity, Equity and Engagement
Popp Martin Student Union 210
704-687-7119
KimberlyTurner@uncc.edu
Burden, Adam
Senior Associate Director of Student Involvement
Student Venues and Engagement
Popp Martin Student Union 212K
704-687-7657
AdamBurden@uncc.edu
Paquette, Elisabeth
Assistant Professor
Philosophy
Winningham 104
Epaquet1@uncc.edu
Souffrant, Eddy
Assocaite Professor, Department of Philosophy
College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
Winningham 109A
704-687-4126
esouffra@uncc.edu
Sanders, Mark
Lecturer/Undergraduate Coordinator, Department of Philosophy
College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
Winningham 112B
704-687-5421
msander2@uncc.edu
Pitts, Andrea
Assistant Professor
Philosophy
Winningham 103
apitts5@uncc.edu
McReynolds, Phillip
Assistant Professor
Philosophy
Winningham 109A
687-5415
Mcreynolds@uncc.edu
Levin, Sue
Academic Advisor
College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
Woodward 250
704-687-7855
slevin3@uncc.edu
Bowers-Macrander, Ashley
Visiting Lecturer
Biological Sciences
Woodward 235F
68706062
abowersm@uncc.edu
Kelley, Gina
Academic Advisor
College of Computing and Informatics
Woodward 230B
704-687-8768
gkelley1@uncc.edu
Kennedy, Caroline
Senior Post Award Specialist
College of Computing and Informatics
Woodward 341B
704-687-0498
cekenned@uncc.edu
Cynowa, Cory
Student Organization Officer
College of Computing and Informatics
Woodward
ccynowa@uncc.edu
Rorrer, Audrey
College Assessment Director
College of Computing and Informatics
Woodward 230 E
704-687-8648
audrey.rorrer@uncc.edu
Clarke-Jones, Nancy
Business Services Coordinator-Operations and Financial Services
College of Computing and Informatics
Woodward 410G
704-687-8644
neclarke@uncc.edu
Frevert, Tonya
Research Assistant Professor
College of Computing and Informatics
Woodward 305c
704-687-5606
tfrevert@uncc.edu