Allies Directory

A Safe Zone Ally at UNC Charlotte is an informed campus partner who has committed time and energy through organized training to learn more about individuals that may identify as Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Questioning or may be unsure of their sexual orientation or gender identity. The Safe Zone Symbol (above) is a visible symbol of support and an affirmation of commitment by that individual to fight homophobia and heterosexism at UNC Charlotte.

The Safe Zone Ally Motto:

I am committed to respecting, accepting, supporting, and listening. I am here.


Name Position & Department Contact Information
Dooley, Beau
Director, Wellness Promotion
Student Health
Student Health Center
704-687-7414
bdooley1@uncc.edu
Schob, Elizabeth
BASICS Program Graduate Assistant, Wellness Promotion
Student Health
Student Health Center
eschob@uncc.edu
Talluri, Carolyn
Physician's Assistant
Student Health
Student Health Center
704-687-7400
cmahony@uncc.edu
Merges, Kelly
Assistant Director
Student Niner Media
Popp Martin Student Union 042A
704-687-7136
klmerges@uncc.edu
Miller, Heather
Associate Director of Student Involvement
Student Union, Activities & Recreation
Popp Martin Student Union 212M
704-687-7130
hmille40@uncc.edu
Forester, Rachael
Assistant Director
Identity, Equity and Engagement
Popp Martin Student Union 210
704-687-1611
rforest3@uncc.edu
Cristina, Madi
Graduate Assistant for Student Organizations
Student Union, Activities & Recreation
Popp Martin Student Union
studentorgs-ga@uncc.edu
Markstein, Laura
Popp Martin Student Union
lmarkste@uncc.edu
Langley, Sean
Assistant Director
Leadership and Community Engagement
Popp Martin Student Union 382A
704-687-0361
slangley@uncc.edu
Wilhelm, Lucian
Associate Director for Conference, Reservations & Event Services
Conferences, Reservations & Event Services
Popp Martin Student Union 251Y
704-687-7105
Lucian.Wilhelm@uncc.edu
Campbell, Nadia
Assistant Director
Leadership and Community Engagement
Popp Martin Student Union 280
704-687-7159
ncampbell@uncc.edu
Shaffer, Karen
Assistant Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs
Student Union, Activities & Recreation
Popp Martin Student Union 251H
704-687-7128
KarenShaffer@uncc.edu
Jackson, Aeryn
Senior Web Applications Developer
Student Union, Activities & Recreation
Popp Martin Student Union 251T
704-687-7871
aarjacks@uncc.edu
Hurst, Casey
SAFC Business manager
Student Union, Activities & Recreation
Popp Martin Student Union SGOC Room 212V
704-687-7255
cphurst@uncc.edu
Turner, Kimberly
Director
Identity, Equity and Engagement
Popp Martin Student Union 210
704-687-7119
KimberlyTurner@uncc.edu
Burden, Adam
Senior Associate Director of Student Involvement
Student Union, Activities & Recreation
Popp Martin Student Union 212K
704-687-7657
AdamBurden@uncc.edu
Mayhew, Max
Web Applications Developer
Student Union, Activities & Recreation
Popp Martin Student Union 251M
mmayhew6@uncc.edu
McReynolds, Phillip
Assistant Professor
Philosophy
Winningham 109A
687-5415
Mcreynolds@uncc.edu
Souffrant, Eddy
Assocaite Professor, Department of Philosophy
College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
Winningham 109A
704-687-4126
esouffra@uncc.edu
Paquette, Elisabeth
Assistant Professor
Philosophy
Winningham 104
Epaquet1@uncc.edu
Sanders, Mark
Lecturer/Undergraduate Coordinator, Department of Philosophy
College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
Winningham 112B
704-687-5421
msander2@uncc.edu
Pitts, Andrea
Assistant Professor
Philosophy
Winningham 103
apitts5@uncc.edu
Levin, Sue
Academic Advisor
College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
Woodward 250
704-687-7855
slevin3@uncc.edu
Kelley, Gina
Academic Advisor
College of Computing and Informatics
Woodward 230B
704-687-8768
gkelley1@uncc.edu
Bowers-Macrander, Ashley
Visiting Lecturer
Biological Sciences
Woodward 235F
68706062
abowersm@uncc.edu