Allies Directory

A Safe Zone Ally at UNC Charlotte is an informed campus partner who has committed time and energy through organized training to learn more about individuals that may identify as Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Questioning or may be unsure of their sexual orientation or gender identity. The Safe Zone Symbol (above) is a visible symbol of support and an affirmation of commitment by that individual to fight homophobia and heterosexism at UNC Charlotte.

The Safe Zone Ally Motto:

I am committed to respecting, accepting, supporting, and listening. I am here.


Name Position & Department Contact Information
Gartlan, Scott
Executive Director, Charlotte Teachers Institute
College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
Fretwell 324
704-687-2026
Scott.Gartlan@uncc.edu
Lewis, Janaka
Associate Professor, Department of English
Department of English
Fretwell 245M
704-687-0026
J.Lewis@uncc.edu
Pollock, Sarah
Lecturer
Sociology
Fretwell 458A
610-299-6887
spolloc1@uncc.edu
Leak, Jeffrey
Professor
English
Fretwell 280D
704-687-0025
jleak@uncc.edu
Thiede, Ralf
Associate Professor of Linguistics
Department of English
Fretwell 265-B
704-687-0611
rthiede@uncc.edu
Long, Shawn
Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
CLAS
Fretwell 430
704-687-0075
Shawn.Long@uncc.edu
Eudy, Sara
Graduate Teaching Assistant
English
Fretwell 290N
seudy4@uncc.edu
Rauch, Alan
Professor
English
Fretwell 290N
704-687-0391
arauch@uncc.edu
Williams, Angela
Business Services Coordinator
English
Fretwell 276E
704-687-0015
anwillia@uncc.edu
Thachik, Stefani
Assistant Director, Student Center for Professional Development
Belk College of Business
Friday 147
704-687-6068
Sthachik@uncc.edu
Sanchez, Stephanie
Business Analyst
Belk College of Business
Friday 368C
704-687-7684
ssanch12@uncc.edu
Mitchell, Sarah
Assistant Director of Professional Development
Belk College of Business
Friday 147A
704-687-7568
smitch47@gmail.com
Stivender, Carol
Professor, Department of Economics
Belk College of Business
Friday 219D
704-687-7606
costiven@uncc.edu
Lawrence, Kimberly
Academic and Career Coach
Belk College of Business
Friday 310B
704-687-7670
k.lawrence@uncc.edu
Swayne, Linda
Professor, Department of Marketing
Belk College of Business
Friday 240B
704-687-7602
leswayne@uncc.edu
Glasco, Meagan
Director of Professional Development
Belk College of Business
Friday 312B
704-687-6329
mglasco@uncc.edu
Sigmon, Allison
Associate Director, Academic and Career Coaching
Belk College of Business
Friday 305
704-687-7714
allisonmsigmon@uncc.edu
Jasmine, Suzanne
Academic and Career Coach
Belk College of Business
Friday 310A
704-687-7632
sjasmine@uncc.edu
Pickel, Sarah
Academic and Career Coach
Belk College of Business
Friday 311C
Spickel@uncc.edu
Lansen, Oscar
Director of Undergraduate Studies
Department of History
Garinger 237
704-687-5145
oelansen@uncc.edu
Hicks, Cheryl
Associate Professor
History Department
Garinger 210
704-687-5142
cheryl.hicks@uncc.edu
Flint, Karen
Associate Professor
History Department
Garinger 204
704-687-5130
kflint@uncc.edu
Ramsey, Sonya
Associate Professor of History and Women's and Gender Studies
History Department
Garinger 126
704-687-5154
sramse17@uncc.edu
Deem, Lynnette
Adjunct Professor
History Department
Garinger 225
9809392989
lmthinne@uncc.edu
Ferdinando, Peter
Lecturer
History Department
Garinger 224
pferdina@uncc.edu