Allies Directory

A Safe Zone Ally at UNC Charlotte is an informed campus partner who has committed time and energy through organized training to learn more about individuals that may identify as Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Questioning or may be unsure of their sexual orientation or gender identity. The Safe Zone Symbol (above) is a visible symbol of support and an affirmation of commitment by that individual to fight homophobia and heterosexism at UNC Charlotte.

The Safe Zone Ally Motto:

I am committed to respecting, accepting, supporting, and listening. I am here.


Name Position & Department Contact Information
Rosenberger, Liz
Coordinator of Fitness
University Recreation
Belk Gym 125
804-380-7549
Enewcom1@uncc.edu
Lord, Tori
Assistant Director for Fitness
University Recreation
Belk Gym 116
704-687-1077
Vlord1@uncc.edu
Ward, Brenda
Senior Lecturer
Kinesiology
Belk Gym #216
704-687-0870
bjward@uncc.edu
Mata, Tina
Coorindator of Intramural Sports
University Recreation
Belk Gym 126
7046870436
Tmata@uncc.edu
Shilling, Matt
Assistant Director of Open Recreation and Aquatics
University Recreation
Belk Gym 117
704-687-1854
Mshilling@uncc.edu
Jordan-Marshall, Sophia
Associate Director of Programs
University Recreation
Belk Gym 110
704-687-0433
sophia.marshall@uncc.edu
Walczyk, Jim
Director
University Recreation
Belk Gym 121
7046870432
jwalczyk@uncc.edu
Cooper, Brian
Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry
College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
Burson 142
704-687-8050
btcooper@uncc.edu
Hawes, Rebecca
Admin Support Associate
College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
Burson 200
7046875244
rhawes@uncc.edu
Donovan-Merkert, Bernadette
Department Chair, Department of Chemistry
Department of Chemistry
Burson 200
704-687-1464
bdonovan@uncc.edu
Agosta, Rebecca
Lecturer, University Writing Program
College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
Cameron Hall 145B
704-687-1901
ragosta@uncc.edu
Rand, Meaghan
Senior Lecturer
University Writing Program
Cameron Hall 126
mrand1@uncc.edu
Voltz, Fran
Adjunct Faculty, First-Year Writing Program
College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
Cameron Hall 113
efvoltz@uncc.edu
King, Janasha
Business Services Specialist
Research & Economic Development
Cameron Hall 320B
704-687-8046
Jking122@uncc.edu
McAuley , Joy
Proposal specialist
Research & Economic Development
Cameron Hall 314
704-687-1878
Jomcaule@uncc.edu
Presnell, Barbara
Senior lecturer
University Writing Program
Cameron Hall 140
3362501381
bpresnel@uncc.edu
Keene, P. Gail
Business Officer
Research & Economic Development
Cameron Hall 704-687-8286
704-687-8286
pgkeene@uncc.edu
Kaufman, Nicole
Writing Resources Center Tutor
Department of English
Cameron Hall
704-975-4384
nkaufman@uncc.edu
Mullin, Joan
Executive Directory Professor
University Writing Program
Cameron Hall 134
704-687-1897
jmulli40@uncc.edu
Runden, Catherine
Research Compliance
Research & Economic Development
Cameron Hall 326
704-687-1871
Crunden@uncc.edu
Volstad, Gabrielle
Adjunct Lecturer
University Writing Program
Cameron Hall 113
gturgeon@uncc.edu
Haney, Shawnee
Sr Research Administrator
Research & Economic Development
Cameron Hall
75148
Shaney9@uncc.edu
Brown, Lesley
Director of Proposal Development
Research & Economic Development
Cameron Hall 315
704-687-1880
labrown@uncc.edu
Wertz-Orbaugh, Tonya
Lecturer
College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
Cameron Hall 132
704-687-1921
torbaugh@uncc.edu
Jenkins, Leslie
Contracts Administrator
Research & Economic Development
Cameron Hall 305A
7-1868
lajenki1@uncc.edu