Allies Directory

A Safe Zone Ally at UNC Charlotte is an informed campus partner who has committed time and energy through organized training to learn more about individuals that may identify as Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Questioning or may be unsure of their sexual orientation or gender identity. The Safe Zone Symbol (above) is a visible symbol of support and an affirmation of commitment by that individual to fight homophobia and heterosexism at UNC Charlotte.

The Safe Zone Ally Motto:

I am committed to respecting, accepting, supporting, and listening. I am here.


Name Position & Department Contact Information
Mickey, Elise
Assistant Registrar for Records
Office of the Registrar
704-687-5485
elise.mickey@uncc.edu
Cynowa, Cory
ccynowa@uncc.edu
Carter, Jessica
Assistant Director, Business Career Advisor
Career Center
704-687-0795
jcart101@uncc.edu
Maguire Robinson, Joanne
Department Chair
Religious Studies
704-687-5198
joanne.robinson@uncc.edu
Miller, Elizabeth
Associate Professor
English
704-687-0171
ermiller@uncc.edu
Sigmon, Allison
Academic Advisor
Belk College of Business
704-687-7714
allisonmsigmon@uncc.edu
Cox, John
Associate Professor
College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
704-687-2028
jcox73@uncc.edu
DeVos, Aimee
Head Softball Coach
Athletics
704-687-0729
amdevos@uncc.edu
Thiede, Barbara
Senior Lecturer
Religious Studies
704-687-5187
bthiede@uncc.edu
Novak, James
Staff
Center for Counseling and Psychological Services
Atkins 150
704-687-0787
jnovak4@uncc.edu
Yeomans, Leah
Career Advisor
Career Center
Atkins 150
lfinch5@uncc.edu
Lennon, Erica
Staff Psychologist
Center for Counseling and Psychological Services
Atkins 158
704-687-0322
EricaLennon@uncc.edu
Saunders, Stephanie
Assitant Director for Freshman Career Planning
College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
Atkins 150
704-687-0807
ssaund20@uncc.edu
Schmitz, Dawn
Associate Dean for Special Collections and University Archives
Atkins Library
Atkins 1002
7046871674
dawn.schmitz@uncc.edu
Frederick, John
Director of Academic Planning & Assessment
Provost Office
Atkins 146
704-687-6174
jfrede14@uncc.edu
Malone, Libby
Staff Psychologist
Center for Counseling and Psychological Services
Atkins 158
704-687-0311
Elizabeth.Malone@uncc.edu
Thomas, Nikki
Archivist (Assoc Prof)
Atkins Library
Atkins 902
704-687-0339
nthoma33@uncc.edu
Corkery, Megan
Assistant Director, Engineering, Arts & Architecture Career Advisor
Career Center
Atkins 150
704-687-0798
megan.corkery@uncc.edu
Klein, Jessalyn
Staff Psychologist, Suicide Prevention Coordinator
Center for Counseling and Psychological Services
Atkins 158
704-687-0311
jklein14@uncc.edu
Stevens , Rebecca
Graduate Assistant
Career Center
Atkins 150
rsteve25@uncc.edu
Miller, Ryan
Graphic and UX Design Specialist
Atkins Library
Atkins Atkins 252A
17048805536
rmille98@uncc.edu
French, Matthew
Career Center Atkins 150
704-687-0804
mkfrench@uncc.edu
Wages, Rachel
Assistant Director for Career Education
Career Center
Atkins 150
704-687-8123
rmwages@uncc.edu
Larson, Stephanie
Graduate Assistant
Career Center
Atkins 150
704-687-0795
slarso10@uncc.edu
Rhodes, Terri
Assistant Director for Training/Staff Psychologist/Lecturer
Dean of Students Office
Atkins 158
704-687-0329
trhodes@uncc.edu